this post loosely follows the prompt for this weeks Wicked Wednesday meme, but takes a slightly different slant on the concept of being naked.

na·ked (nkd)
adj.
1. Having no clothing on the body; nude.
2. Having no covering, especially the usual one: a naked sword.
3. Devoid of vegetation, trees, or foliage: the naked ground; naked tree limbs.
4. Being without addition, concealment, disguise, or embellishment
5. Devoid of a specified quality, characteristic, or element: a look that was naked of all pretense.
6. Exposed to harm; vulnerable.

I found this image earlier today and thought it would perfectly illustrate my thoughts for this post.

When most people talk of the state of being naked, one immediately associates it with the physical state of undress.
To me, it means being exposed, not just physically, but emotionally.
It means displaying an uncomfortable level of fragility and vulnerability, which are two states of being that I’m not wholly comfortable with. It immediately puts me off my stride, takes away any semblance of confidence I had, and places me way out of my barbed-wire clad comfort zone.
To have this state forced upon me simply makes me agitated and, to a certain degree, resentful.

I’ve become adept at staring defiantly from behind my self-constructed walls, forever shoring up the defenses in an OCD fashion, checking for cracks in the brickwork, panicking when a hole appears incase the weakness is exploited and those metaphorical walls come crashing down.

When I look at the above image, I see someone for whom those self same walls have been torn down, someone broken?(I honestly cannot think of a better word), denuded….and I wonder, is that really such a bad thing? It leads me to ponder what it is that makes me so fearful of being thus unmasked, what is it I’m so ferociously protecting?

I’m also a little envious of those who find being naked(using the meaning as defined by this post) easy, or atleast easier.
There’s got to be an upside to it, right?

To see who else is playing along this week, click the button below.

Wicked Wednesday... be inspired & share...