Anger.
Irrational.
It manipulates,
twists,
becomes the monkey on your back,
incessant chatter,
stark, shrill,
nonsensical
seeking to make gains in the battlefield of your mind.

Rebellion.
Against myself,
Him,
A refusal to acknowledge
Emotion,
raw,
Need,
painful, beautiful, terrifyingly intense.

Sabotage.
Obstacles
I place in my way
then scream in frustration
at myself
when over them I gracelessly stumble,
losing face in the fall.

Refuge sought,
(in the wrong place)
solitary, snarling.
A warning issued.
Stay the fuck away.

Introspection, brooding,
denial,
again.
Introversion,
a stubborn refusal
to see
the reflection cast by the mirror pointed inward….
Too bright, the scrutiny of self examination.

Desire
to breathe
the air of submission
the elixir of life and inner peace
A cage, metaphorical, in which to be bound,
vulnerability exposed against mulish will,
Force, unflinching,
uncompromising,
(comfort).

Surrender
inevitable,
boundaries (immovable)
alone
can subdue a whirring mind.